top of page
IMG_7008.jpg

Halifax Council to Introduce Infill Bylaw

A newly proposed bylaw to protect Halifax from unwanted infill activity in the Northwest Arm is being introduced, but neglects to include Dartmouth Cove.

On Tuesday, November 14th, 2023, Halifax City Council is set to introduce a proposed bylaw designed to prevent the infill of the Northwest Arm. While the Northwest Arm's situation has received significant attention, it's disheartening to note that the proposed bylaw makes no mention of Dartmouth Cove, a vital and beloved part of our community.


The priority of the Northwest Arm's proposed infill in this bylaw, while Dartmouth Cove remains unmentioned, raises a compelling question. Why should one proposal for infill be addressed within the bylaw, while another equally concerning proposal affecting Dartmouth Cove is left unaddressed?


We Need Your Support: Stand Up for Dartmouth Cove

Next Tuesday, when City Council convenes to vote on this pivotal bylaw, it's essential that we make our collective voice heard. We must express our strong disagreement with the proposed infill in Dartmouth Cove and advocate for its inclusion within the protective measures of this bylaw.

It is crucial to emphasize that Dartmouth Cove is a cherished, picturesque part of our community, valued just as highly as the Northwest Arm. Our tranquil waterfront, beloved by residents and appreciated for its ecological significance, deserves the same attention and protection.

How You Can Support the Cause:

  • Write a letter of support to City Council (contacts linked below), urging the inclusion of Dartmouth Cove in the proposed infill bylaw.

  • Encourage your friends, family, and neighbours to do the same.

  • Stay informed about the developments related to this issue and be ready to lend your voice when the time comes.

By uniting in our advocacy for Dartmouth Cove, we can make a compelling case for its protection. We believe that our community's heritage and its natural treasures are worth preserving for future generations.


In Conclusion

Halifax City Council is at a crossroads in determining the future of Dartmouth Cove. The stark absence of Dartmouth Cove in the proposed bylaw is an evident oversight, one that our united community has the power to correct. After all, all three levels of government, including Halifax Regional Municipality, have publicly opposed infilling in Dartmouth Cove. Therefore, there seems to be no valid reason for its exclusion from the new bylaw. Failing to include Dartmouth Cove would contradict the earlier public stance of all levels of government on this matter, undermining the collective commitment to preserve this vital part of our community.



Thank you for your support and dedication to Dartmouth Cove. Together, we can make a difference.



 

Cite Council Contact Information

Please draft your letter of support to all HRM City Councillors. Please cc Andy Fillmore, MP Halifax, andy.fillmore@parl.gc.ca and Darren Fisher, MP Dartmouth-Cole Harbour, darren.fisher@parl.gc.ca who have been working to encourage HRM to bring forward this bylaw.


You can copy and paste the following addresses and use the starter text below:

david.hendsbee@halifax.ca,cathy.deaglegammon@halifax.ca,mayor@halifax.ca,becky.kent@halifax.ca,trish.purdy@halifax.ca,sam.austin@halifax.ca,tony.mancini@halifax.ca,waye.mason@halifax.ca,lindell.smith@halifax.ca,shawn.cleary@halifax.ca,kathryn.morse@halifax.ca,patty.cuttell@halifax.ca,iona.stoddard@halifax.ca,pam.lovelace@halifax.ca,lisa.blackburn@halifax.ca,paul.russell@halifax.ca,tim.outhit@halifax.ca


Subject: Urgent Support Needed: Include Dartmouth Cove in the Proposed Infill Bylaw


Dear Halifax City Council,

I am writing to express my strong support for the inclusion of Dartmouth Cove in the proposed infill bylaw being proposed this Tuesday, November 14. Dartmouth Cove holds immense significance for our community, and its exclusion is a matter of concern. [Feel free to add your personal thoughts and experiences here.] I urge you to support the efforts to amend the bylaw to include Dartmouth Cove, ensuring our community's interests are protected.


Sincerely, [Your Name]


Waverley-Fall River-Musquodoboit Valley

Cathy Deagle Gammon

www.halifax.ca/district01

902-717-2718


Preston-Chezzetcook -Eastern Shore

David Hendsbee

www.halifax.ca/district02

902-483-0705


Dartmouth South-Eastern Passage

Becky Kent

www.halifax.ca/district03

902-478-5368


Cole Harbour-Westphal

Trish Purdy

www.halifax.ca/district04

902-240-3067


Dartmouth Centre

Sam Austin

www.halifax.ca/district05

902-579-6814


Harbourview-Burnside-Dartmouth East

Tony Mancini

www.halifax.ca/district06

902-292-4823


Peninsula South-Downtown

Waye Mason

www.halifax.ca/district07

902-430-7822


Peninsula North

Lindell Smith

www.halifax.ca/district08

902-579-6975


Armdale- Peninsula West

Shawn Cleary

www.halifax.ca/district09

902-579-6746


Halifax-Bedford Basin West

Kathryn Morse

www.halifax.ca/district10

902-497-7278


Timberlea-Beechville-Clayton Park West

Iona Stoddard

www.halifax.ca/district12

902-240-7926


Hammonds Plains-St. Margaret's

Pam Lovelace

www.halifax.ca/district13

902-225-4624


Middle & Upper Sackville- Lucasville

Lisa Blackburn

www.halifax.ca/district14

902-579-7164


Lower Sackville

Paul Russell

www.halifax.ca/district15

902-240-0441


Bedford- Wentworth

Tim Outhit

www.halifax.ca/district16

902-229-6385


Mailing Address for all Councillors

PO Box 1749

Halifax Nova Scotia

B3J 3A5



Komentar


Mengomentari telah dimatikan.
bottom of page